Minumsa publishing group

Minumsa is the largest general trade publisher in Korea. Founded in 1966 they are committed to publishing the best literary works, originals and reprints, by writers both in Korea and abroad. Minumsa has established two of the most prestigious Korean awards, ‘Writer of the Year Award’ and the ‘KimSuyoung Award’, and has become the most influential publishing company in Korean literature. Not only fostering Korean literature, Minumsa has also continued to publish the finest foreign literature with writers such as J. D. Salinger, Jack Kerouac, Guenter Grass, Hermann Hesse, Jorge Luis Borges, Samuel Beckett, Milan Kundera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Doris Lessing, Yi Mun-yol, William Faulkner, Kazuo Ishiguro, Orhan Pamuk, Jon McGregor, Nicole Krauss, Jonathan Safran Foer, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Cormac McCarthy, John Cheever, Martin Amis, Saul Bellow, Gregory Maguire, Daniel Kehlmann, Carlos Fuentes, Gary Shteyngart and Zadie Smith. The strength of Minumsa extends to the nonfiction and includes the works of Gilles Deleuze, Michel Foucault, Jean Baudrillard, Eric Hobsbawm and Jeremy Rifkin.

Minumsa’s publishing group includes BIR, Minumin/Goldenbough, ScienceBooks, Banbi and the graphic imprint Semicolon.

Minumin/Goldenbough was founded in 1996, and has successfully reflected the new trends of the younger generations in Korea. They have opened up new markets for mystery, crime, fantasy, detective fiction and commercial nonfiction. Million-copy sellers of Goldenbough include Dragon Raja (the father of Korean Fantasy), Rich Dad Poor Dad, and the Sherlock Holmes series. In addition to its commercial success, Minumin/Goldenbough has also brought in works from the best contemporary writers such as Stephen King, Dennis Lehane, Matthew Pearl, James Patterson, Ursula K. Le Guin, Margaret Atwood, Philip K. Dick, William Gibson, Richard Matheson, and Kirino Natsuo.

ScienceBooks was established in 1997 as the demand for science general trade nonfiction increased in Korea. ScienceBooks has had great success in delivering interesting viewpoints on science to a Korean audience. The key writers include are James D. Watson, Carl Sagan, Konrad Lorenz, Stephen Jay Gould, Jane Goodall, Edward O. Wilson, Richard Feynman, Simon Winchester, Matt Ridley, Steven Pinker, Lisa Randall and C. P. Snow.

Semicolon was founded in 2005 to introduce various kinds of visual culture in book form. It covers art, design, architecture to film and graphic novels. The important writers of Semicolon are Wally Olins, Michael Kimmelman, Danny Gregory, Jed Perl, Ross King and Warren Berger on nonfiction titles, and Art Spiegelman , Chris Ware, Daniel Clowes, Joann Sfar, Lewis Trondheim, Posy Simmonds, Adrian Tomine, Osamu Tetsuka and Frank Miller on graphic novels.

댓글 작성 기능이 차단되었습니다.